Spicy Salad Wraps

Hi! For those of you that are new here – my name is Tori. Every week I write a recipe to accompany Potter Hill Farm’s CSA, as well as give you tons of other ideas of what to cook to get the most good eating out of your share. By day I work as a Development Manager for a local non-profit, and by night I spend my time cooking with a heavy emphasis on vegetables. I use herbs liberally and my house motto is “Always More Garlic.” I tag all of the recipes with #potterhill so you can find this year’s as well as past year’s recipes. The search function in this WordPress theme is a little hidden, but it does exist! Just open up any one post (like the first one from the CSA last year) and scroll to the very bottom to find the search bar.

My share this week was salad turnips, kale, lettuce, arugula, spicy salad mix, 2 bunches of fresh onions, carrots, cilantro, and chives. First thing you should do when you get home is remove the greens from the turnips. The turnips are the food for the greens, so the greens will essentially suck the life out of the turnips if they stay attached.

The Red Lentil Coconut Stew I made last year would be excellent this week, just use a mix of greens and herbs and sub salad turnips for the radishes. I used the lettuce in a classic salad with shredded carrots (far superior than chopped carrots for salads). This Spicy Pork & Turnip Soup looks like the ramen I’ve been dreaming of eating out the last few months. If stew/soup sounds crazy to you right now, make a sandwich! Arugula is my absolute favorite green for sandwiches, because you can cram so much in for a nice crunch. (The wraps below are also a great choice!!)

In my house we call these “Health Wraps,” which is much more endearing than it sounds. They are really whatever we make when we need an easy, healthy weeknight meal. The main components are always wraps and hummus, and the vegetables always vary. A little lemon juice and olive oil wakes up the greens, but pesto would also be very welcome here. I went the lazier route and just added a bunch of chopped herbs.

Spicy Salad Wraps

Serves 2 – easily scales

  • 2 10″ wraps or tortillas
  • 2/3 cup hummus (a big swipe for each wrap)
  • 5 cups chopped spicy salad mix
  • 1 cup chopped herbs such as cilantro, chives, parsley, onion greens
  • 3 salad turnips, halved and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup pickles or kimchi, chopped
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Toss the chopped salad mix with lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Taste a leaf – it should be tart and salty now, because it will be balanced out by the other ingredients. Build your wraps by putting a big swipe of hummus on each wrap, then topping each with half of the salad mix, herbs, turnips, and pickles. Roll up and enjoy!

Leave a comment